Best SF&F Film?

speculative fiction other than books

Best SF&F Film?

Postby DavidTate on Monday, 17 November 2008, 12:26 pm

Since nobody else has started any discussions here...

What are the best SF&F films of all time? When I say "best", now, I mean "best" according to the same criteria Eric uses for rating authors and works at this site. Star Wars(sorry, I refuse to call it "Episode IV: A New Hope") is an amazingly entertaining film -- I saw it 11 times in its initial run -- but it's not a great film the way Casablanca or How to Steal a Millionor Witness is a great film.

I'm not a film expert, and I'm particularly weak on films of the last decade or two. But I'll happily get the ball rolling by throwing out a few nominations. In keeping with Eric's guidelines for the site, I am not including horror films, which is why films like The Changeling (*)and The Terminator(**) aren't eligible.

Let me start by reproducing the Portland Oregonian's purported list of the top 50 SF films of all time, from which I have removed the horror titles. This list was ostensibly compiled by a team of SF writers and film buffs:

Blade Runner (1982)
The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951)
Metropolis (1927)
The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
Star Wars (1977)
The Matrix (1999)
Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977)
2001: A Space Odyssey (1968)
E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982)
Alphaville (1965)
A Clockwork Orange (1971)
Brazil (1985)
Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior (1981)
Solaris (1972)
Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1956)
Testuro: The Iron Man (1988)
Things to Come (1936)
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan (1982)
Mad Max (1978)
Forbidden Planet (1956)
Back to the Future (1985)
The City of Lost Children (1995)
The Incredible Shrinking Man (1957)
Akira (1988)
Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1978)
Farenheit 451 (1966)
Repo Man (1984)
Planet of the Apes (1968)
12 Monkeys (1995)
20,000 Leagues Under the Sea (1954)
Delicatessen (1991)
Fantastic Planet (1971)
The Fly (1986)
Jurassic Park (1992)